TRUD, NHS Classifications OPCS-4

NHS Classifications OPCS-4

The NHS Classifications Service is the definitive source of clinical coding guidance and sets the national standards for ICD-10 and OPCS-4 used by the NHS.

The format and structure of the release files remains unchanged. The data files and specifications will be distributed via the Technology Reference-data Update Distribution Service (TRUD) on 01 November 2016

Please see Amd 105/2015: OPCS-4.8 for more information

For any queries regarding this release please contact Information Standards Service Desk

Items in this category

OPCS-4 Systems Data files

OPCS Classification of Interventions and Procedures (OPCS-4) data files release - Codes and Titles, Metadata and Table of Coding Equivalences - specification documents and summary of core changes provided by the Clinical Classifications Service.

The OPCS-4.8 Summary of Changes is available from the Standardisation Committee for Care Information (SCCI) website

National Clinical Coding Standards for OPCS-4

The National Clinical Coding Standards OPCS-4 Reference Book and the companion document Supplementary Information OPCS-4, support the implementation of OPCS-4.7 from 1st April 2014 The Reference Book focuses on the clinical coding standards that must be applied when assigning OPCS-4 codes. Supplementary Information OPCS-4 describes the more complex or less well known procedures classified within OPCS-4

NHS OPCS-4 Chemotherapy Regimens List and High Cost Drugs List

Contains the National Tariff Chemotherapy Regimens and High Cost Drugs Lists and companion documents: Chemotherapy Regimens Clinical Coding Standards and Guidance OPCS-4, High Cost Drugs Clinical Coding Standards and Guidance OPCS-4.

A Basic Introduction to Clinical Coding

As part of the Clinical Coding Standards Course, all attendees must complete the Theory and Background and Key Definitions modules before attending the classroom based course.

Basic Anatomy and Physiology eLearning module

Promoting an understanding of diseases and operations described in case notes by providing information on body systems, how they work together, and the terminology used to describe them. This module must be completed prior to attendance on an 18-day Clinical Coding Foundation Course.

Legally restricted patient confidential reference data

Important Notice - Information on the withdrawal of Read v2 and CTV3 can be found here

Part of the Legally Restricted patient confidential data change standard ISB 1572 Sensitive Data.

Includes the updated clinical code lists for In Vitro Fertilisation (IVF) and Sexually Transmitted Diseases (STD) across the following terminologies and classifications:

  • 5-byte Read Codes Version 2
  • Clinical Terms Version 3
  • ICD-10
  • OPCS 4

Status: Technology Preview